Skip to content

un peu capoté…

my life in pictures

October 3, 2012

277/365 - October 3, 2012 - Finally buddies
Friday is not a huge fan of Sophie. She’ll play with her – when she feels like it – but most of the time, she just growls if Sophie gets too close. She did let Sophie cuddle up with her in the car though! My favourite part was when Sophie put her nose against Friday’s side. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get a good shot of that.

Focal Length 3.7 mm
ISO Speed 800

October 4, 2012

278/365 - October 4, 2012
I picked up some hair accessories today.

no data

October 5, 2012

279/365 - October 5, 2012 - French class
In French, we were going over vocabulary for describing people. I asked them to show me with their hands what a “moustache” and a “barbe” were. This student took the task fairly literally!

no data

October 6, 2012

279/365 - October 6, 2012 - Proposal Day!
So, Jeff and I headed over to Point Roberts for the day. We wandered up and down the beach. I took lots of pictures (of course). On the way back to the path, I was quiet and focused on not twisting my ankle on the uneven surface. Jeff was just quiet. When we got close to the path, I pointed to it and asked if it was the right one (I have a horrible sense of direction). He said that it was, but kept walking straight while holding my hand. He started telling me how much he loved me and wanted to spend the rest of his life with me. None of this was news to me (as he is very good about telling me how much I mean to him), but it finally hit me that he was actually proposing when he got down on bended knee, holding a Frisbee and a giant rock – a real one (the actual ring is on the way). Of course, I said yes and we kissed on the beach. As that was all happening, Chopper was whining in the background because he wanted Jeff to throw his toy. Of course.

Some cliff notes:

  • He asked my dad for permission on Friday. Apparently, he couldn’t help but mumble.
  • When we got back to the car and turned it on, the radio was playing a song that he has always thought would be terrific for a first dance or walking down the aisle. Fate?
  • When we told his parents, I think his mom said, “Finally” at least 6 times that evening. I have no idea how many more times she repeated it since.
  • My parents knew, but they were very happy for us.
  • I told some of my friends by sending a cryptic email. One of our friends had gotten engaged earlier on in September. I sent out a mass email that just stated, “Hey, Amanda… When were you going to hold your wedding? I just want to make sure our dates don’t overlap. 😉 Game over Jeff, Mich”. When the first reply back was a genuine answer, I realized that maybe I was too cryptic.
  • After we announced to immediate family, Jeff decided to “make it official” by posting it on FB. I can’t count the number of “Finally”‘s we got there too. 🙂

Exposure 0.003 sec (1/320)
Aperture f/9.0
Focal Length 18 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

October 7, 2012

280/365 - October 7, 2012 - Gobble gobble
Gobble gobble at the ‘rents! Delicious Food, Day 1.

Exposure 0.01 sec (1/100)
Aperture f/4.5
Focal Length 18 mm
ISO Speed 1600
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

October 8, 2012

281/365 - October 8 , 2012 - No use crying over spilt peas
While preparing food to take over to Jeff’s parents for Thanksgiving (for Delicious Food, Day 2), I asked Jeff to get the peas heated up. He picked up the bag and compared it to the 1L measuring cup that we have, asking, “That looks like 4 cups, doesn’t it?” The look I gave him prompted him to ask, “But you want me to actually measure it, don’t you?” Upon getting an affirmative answer, he proceeded to dump the entire bag of peas into the measuring cup – even when they spilled over. Then he said, “You know what? I would have done the same if I was pouring this into a 1 cup measure.”

*sigh*

Exposure 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture f/4.5
Focal Length 34 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

October 9, 2012

October 9, 2012 - Calzones
Busy day – and scatterbrained – day. I ended up making two batches of calzones to toss in the freezer, using homemade pizza dough. This recipe has a little bit of whole wheat flour, instead of only white flour. Hopefully, they’ll taste good!

no data

