Skip to content

un peu capoté…

my life in pictures

August 15, 2012

228/365 - August 15 - Fresh do
I had to decide between choosing a picture of funfetti mini donuts or a picture of yarn that I overdyed as my pictures of the day. Since I’ve had several pictures of mini donuts and I didn’t take pictures during a very nice peach pie/sunshine tea/chat session with Alisa and Melanie, I decided on the yarn. This is yarn that was passed on to me via Jeff’s family. I decided to try “breaking black” – which is to say, deliberately adding acid (vinegar) to Wilton’s black food colouring. I used a microwave, following this tutorial. It can be unpredictable, but the goal is to end up with different colours that make up the black food colouring. I ended up with more solid colours that intended, probably because I got impatient. I’m going to try a different method next time. We’ll see!

P.S. The donuts (made following this recipe) looked like this:funfetti mini donuts

First picture:
Exposure 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture f/9.0
Focal Length 41 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash On, Fired

August 16, 2012

229/365 - August 16, 2012 - Before the fall
Jeff and I decided to run Minnekhada. I was proud of myself on the way up – I did have to walk for parts, but ran a fair bit of it. We made it up in 30 minutes and 30 seconds (Jeff does the timing). We rested for a while up top, and headed down. I’m, as already noted, very slow on the way down. I worry constantly about my footing. Of course, once we hit a downhill slope that opened up – a path with gravel on it – I didn’t worry about my footing as much. Oops! Jeff and I ran along when the toes on my left foot jammed into the ground. I rolled over my ankle – the same ankle that I rolled badly a few years ago in volleyball. I couldn’t stop my legs, for some reason, so I ran a few steps before I fell to the ground, assisted by Jeff. Jeff got to go all first aid while bugs swarmed. Chopper sat beside me and decided that since I was petting him, it was time for belly rubs. We must have been quite a sight. I managed to hobble back to the car, although I wish that, since I had to fall, I fell closer to the end of the path.

So far, my ankle seems to be healing faster than it did last time, but Jeff scowls and rolls his eyes whenever I propose moving around without crutches.

Exposure 0.008 sec (1/125)
Aperture f/9.0
Focal Length 20 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

August 17, 2012

230/365 - August 17, 2012 - Love the park
We drove over to the park so that Jeff and the dogs could play Frisbee. I relaxed on the grass and took pictures. When I took this one, Chopper was exhausted after doing several sprints.

no data

August 18, 2012

231/365 - August 18, 2012
Jeff’s first day on the job as a first aid attendant. The writing is upside down since that was how he laid the shirt out on the bed, and I was too sore (and lazy) to hobble around to get it right-ways up.

Exposure 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture f/4.5
Focal Length 32 mm
ISO Speed 1600
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

August 19, 2012

232/365 - August 19, 2012
Off to Portland for some good noms, shopping and puppy! We stopped off at the Pie Spot, which we had seen just the night before on Eat St. My dad got the chicken pot pie (pictured), while my mom and I both got the mushroom Gruyere pie. So tasty! I wish that I could have tried some of the sweet treats, but I was too full.

Exposure 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture f/7.1
Focal Length 33 mm
ISO Speed 400
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

August 20, 2012

233/365 - August 20, 2012
Meet Sophie, my parents’ new dog. She’s part Yorkie and part Maltese. She currently weights 1.5 lbs. She wasn’t a huge fan of being in the kennel during the drive home, but adapted quickly once we made it home. So far, she’s shown a lot of spunk – she likes to be around people, she likes to climb and she likes to bound after her toys.

Exposure 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture f/4.0
Focal Length 18 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash On, Fired

August 21, 2012

234/365 - August 21, 2012
More Sophie, of course!

Exposure 0.033 sec (1/30)
Aperture f/4.5
Focal Length 24 mm
ISO Speed 1600
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

