Skip to content

un peu capoté…

my life in pictures

June 6, 2012

158/365 - June 6, 2012
Staredown with the Chopper.

Exposure 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture f/8.0
Focal Length 28 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

June 7, 2012

159/365 - June 7, 2012
A little pose-y, but totally how I felt at the end of the school day. In preparation for a possible indoor Sports Day the next day, all the classes on the first floor had to move all their desks (etc.) out of the way. Unfortunately, my students were assigned to help the primary classes, even though there were other grade 7 classes that didn’t have to clear their rooms. I had to schlep all of my students’ desks – filled with all of their stuff, since we didn’t have time to empty them – around and flip half of them over to make as much space for Frisbee toss (“Frisbee toss?” you ask? I know! Or rather, I don’t know. How? How?) as possible. Interesting things fell out in the process, the grossest being lychee seeds and skins. What the heck? Ew.

Anyway, I ended up sweaty, tired, grumpy and sore. And to top it off? Even though indoor Sports Days are painful, I really hope that it’s an indoor day. If I did all that work for nothing…

Exposure 0.05 sec (1/20)
Aperture f/7.1
Focal Length 37 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

June 8, 2012

160/365 - June 8, 2012
Uh… That’s not me. I imagine that your discerning eye would have picked up that fact.

Well, here’s the story. I was assigned to be the Sports Day photographer. I think that I got some great action shots AND some terrific portraits… but most of them are of students. Which means that I am not comfortable posting their faces online without express permission from their parents – and I don’t actually know many of the kids that I ended up taking pictures of very well. Boo-urns. I made Jeff look at all the pictures I took, because I couldn’t stand the idea that no one else would be able to see how I’ve improved at taking pictures of (other) people!

And then I got lazy and felt that all those great portraits should count. So, uh, long story (sort of) short, no picture of me.

Oh, and as you can see – it was an outdoor Sports Day. Until it started to pour. Then we all went inside and kept the kids entertained for just over an hour. Luckily, most of my kids were fascinated by E.T. (Hey, it would have been cruel to make them do work after they ran their stations so well and came with the expectation of a whole morning of fun!)

Exposure 0.006 sec (1/160)
Aperture f/8.0
Focal Length 55 mm
ISO Speed 400
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

June 9, 2012

161/365 - June 9, 2012
Finally! A nice enough day to go outside and experiment with some jumping shots. Melanie sent me a link to a blog (which I couldn’t find for this post, sorry) where the blogger/photographer features self-portraits of her in the air. She even explained how to do it. When I read her directions, I thought, “This sounds so deceptively easy. I’m sure it’s harder than that.”

Well, my shots aren’t as good as hers, but I was surprised at what I did come up with! It was bright enough that I could up the shutter speed to 1/500 and set the aperture at f/8.0. I focused manually somewhere “out there” and used a remote on a two second timer. After a few gratuitous shots of me, alone, Jeff and I decided to try time it well enough that Chopper and I would be in the shot. This shot was my favourite. It’s titled, “Interception!”

Exposure 0.002 sec (1/500)
Aperture f/8.0
Focal Length 25 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

June 10, 2012

162/365 - June 10, 2012
More time at the park.

Exposure 0.002 sec (1/500)
Aperture f/10.0
Focal Length 39 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

June 11, 2012

163/365 - June 11, 2012
Running off some extra steam (as my students say, I was KING KONG FÂCHÉ!)… This one was a bit tougher to take since a) I had already completed my run and didn’t have a ton of extra energy to run in short bursts for the shot and b) I found the range on the remote limiting in how far away I could get, thus affecting my stride. Oh well.

Exposure 0.002 sec (1/500)
Aperture f/10.0
Focal Length 18 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

June 12, 2012

164/365 - June 12, 2012
My fingers are in the picture (deliberately) so this counts as a self-portrait, right?

After going for a (non King Kong FÂCHÉ!) run, I made some lamb burgers with cucumber raita and stuffed eggplant. The lamb burger was delicious – but I was too full to really dig into the eggplant. Noms.

Exposure 0.033 sec (1/30)
Aperture f/6.3
Focal Length 39 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash On, Fired

