Skip to content

un peu capoté…

my life in pictures

I took a photography workshop with Amanda Kerr. We met at Granville Island to learn more about our cameras and how to set them up for successful night time shots. I learned about functions that I didn’t know existed! I’ll have to pull out the manual again and start paying more attention.

We started with long exposure photography.
Jan 6 Photowalk

Exposure 15
Aperture f/8.0
Focal Length 37 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

Jan 6 Photowalk
Exposure 5
Aperture f/8.0
Focal Length 18 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

Next, we started zooming to play with light painting.
Jan 6 Photowalk
Exposure 8
Aperture f/8.0
Focal Length 20 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

Isn’t this seahorse just the perfect subject for light painting? I take no credit for noticing it. Amanda told us to play around with it as a focus.
Jan 6 Photowalk
Exposure 1
Aperture f/22.0
Focal Length 18 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

Jan 6 Photowalk
Exposure 1
Aperture f/22.0
Focal Length 18 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

Jan 6 Photowalk
Exposure 2
Aperture f/22.0
Focal Length 28 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

We shifted locations slightly to take light trail pictures. I’ve been wanting to try this for some time, but haven’t given it a shot. I think, if I push past my excuses, that it was laziness.
Jan 6 Photowalk
Exposure 15
Aperture f/22.0
Focal Length 18 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

Finally, we moved on to panning. My friend Alym recommended that I try this, but I hadn’t been finding much success. Part of it was not quite understanding the technique. Another part was laziness – I didn’t find reasons to stand at the side of the road and follow cars… I will have to practice this again though. I’m not quite “there” yet!
Jan 6 Photowalk
Exposure 0.125 sec (1/8)
Aperture f/3.5
Focal Length 18 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

