Skip to content

un peu capoté…

my life in pictures

Whazzat? Roundup of what?

I’m changing what I do for Weekly Assignment Wednesdays. I found it too difficult to keep up at times. Even though I posted regularly, I didn’t always take the care I wanted to take with my pictures. It defeated the purpose of the weekly assignments.

I decided to do two things. I’m doing another project365… technically though , it’s project366 this year. You can find a description here, but essentially, it’s a project where you take at least one picture a day. There are versions where you take a picture of yourself once a day, but daily self-portraits at this time don’t suit my needs. I’ll be posting my pictures once a week, on Wednesdays. I’ll also be updating on Shuttercal, a cool way of seeing your pictures in calendar form. If you look back in my archives (on this blog and on Shuttercal), you can see pictures from my last project365, which I did from November 2009-October 2010.

The other thing that I’m doing along with my project365 is focusing on a skill each month. Not every picture that I take for project365 will highlight that skill, but hopefully, most will. For example, for January, I’m working on manual focus. I almost exclusively use auto focus, so this is definitely a skill that I need to improve. I looked at the pictures that I took on January 1st and all but one were out of focus. Hopefully, by January 31, this ratio will change!

I invite all of you – especially WAW participants – to join in with one or both endeavors. I’m sorry to drop the weekly part, but I think that a monthly focus gives us all more time – something we had difficulty with during the weekly assignments.

1/365 – January 1, 2012
1/365 - January 1 2012
Taken on a walk with Jeff and the dogs at Bert Flinn. Thank goodness for dogs. If it weren’t for them, I would spend all my time sitting on my butt!

Exposure 0.025 sec (1/40)
Aperture f/5.6
Focal Length 48 mm
ISO Speed 6400
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

2/365 – January 2, 2012
2/365 - January 2 2012
These will be Pomotamus fingerless gloves, a modification of a Cookie A pattern. I’ve been working away at these during the break, hoping to finish soon so that my hands will be warmer on those dog walks. I may – if I’m brave – add a flip top to protect my fingers too, but we’ll see. I’ve already ran into a few snags with these guys, so we’ll see how I feel.

Exposure 0.125 sec (1/8)
Aperture f/10.0
Focal Length 43 mm
ISO Speed 200
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

3/265 – January 3, 2012

3/365 - January 3, 2012First day back at work. I showed up at the same time as I normally do when I drive to work (I’m usually later when Jeff drives) and what do I find? A pitch black school with locked doors. The waiting group of teachers grew and grew until finally a custodian AND a maintenance person (called in because of the locked doors) showed up 35 minutes later. So much for getting a lot done in the morning! This fingerprint photo is of an activity that my students are doing.

Exposure 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture f/8.0
Focal Length 39 mm
ISO Speed 400
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

