Skip to content

un peu capoté…

my life in pictures

Years ago, I bought a “Teach yourself how to knit” kit for kids and figured out how to knit and purl. The book limited me to a few projects: a hat, a scarf, a sunglasses bag or a cell phone pouch. Since I didn’t actually want the end products, I would knit a project and then undo it, and then move on to the next. Eventually, I put all that stuff into a basket with my other craft stuff and forgot about it.

Fast forward several years: several of my students joined the knitting club (AKA the yarn bombing club) and started knitting whenever they got the chance. Some were less suited to it than others. One student would grumpily hold out her work to her friends any time something went wrong, explaining that when things go badly at home, she would just say, “MOM! Fix it!”. Others acted as human yarn holders. Many ended up knitting some great stuff – some even learned how to crochet!

In any case, my interest in knitting was rekindled. I ended up investing in some different needles and waaaay better yarn than the “Teach yourself how to knit” kit came with. I realized that knitting was the perfect solution to my need to multitask. I hate sitting still, so I knit! Anyway, here are a few pictures of some of my projects.

capelet

tank

2011 may 17 100

braided cable scarf

slouchy cable hat

Taking these shots took some time. I’m not very good yet at the self portrait thing. There was a lot of running back and forth between the camera and my spot.

